The Wall projects monthly during the First Friday Art Walk in Oakland. Check back for special screenings and events!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Oakland East Bay Symphony Simulcast

November 7, 2014 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

On November 7, 2014, Oakland East Bay Symphony will present its opening night concert at Oakland’s historic Paramount Theater with a program featuring Tchaikovsky’s iconic 5th Symphony and the West Coast premiere of a piece composed by Chris Brubeck
(son of the late jazz pianist Dave Brubeck) and Guillaume Saint-James, commemorating their fathers and the fateful events of D-Day. The work, Brothers in Arts, will feature the two composers as part of a jazz quintet with the orchestra.

The concert will be broadcast live at 100×100′ scale, and online here.


Friday, November 7, 2014 at 7pm PDT


Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky 
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 

Chris Brubeck & Guillaume Saint-James 
Brothers in Arts: 70 Years of Liberty (West Coast Premiere) 
New work for Jazz Quintet & Orchestra 

Chris Brubeck, composer/trombone 
Guillaume Saint-James, composer/saxophones 
Jerome Seguin, bass 
Didier Ithursarry, accordion 
Christophe Lavergne, drums 
Vocal Rush vocalists: 
Jada Banks Mace 
McKenna Lindell Wright 
Nelly Ake 

“[Chris Brubeck is] a composer with a real flair for lyrical melody – a 21st Century Lenny Bernstein.” – Chicago Tribune 


November 7, 2014
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm